Book Review: Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Charming. Warm fuzzies. Playful.

Beautiful.

These are just some of the words that come to mind as I try to describe and review Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. Now that I think about it, I’m not sure I’ve ever used the phrase “warm fuzzies” to describe a book, but I’m going to roll with it because I love it that much.

From Wilbur’s eagerness for a friend (the desperation of which I understand all too well) to Charlotte’s clever ploy to trick humans to Templeton’s grumpy collector tendencies, every part of Zuckerman’s barn is wondrous. I adored the pieces of reality that White included, such as the geese’s loud inclinations and the passing fancies of Fern, from saving a piglet one year to experiencing her first schoolgirl crush on Henry Fussy the next. Charlotte’s Web provides elements of connectivity for every step along the walk of life, including those of us who would identify more readily as a city slicker than a country mouse.

It’s rare that I’m able to describe a book as “perfect,” but that’s exactly what Charlotte’s Web is. Now, I understand why so many parents say that children ask to read it “again! again!” as soon as they reach the final page – that’s exactly how I felt as I read it.

This might be one of my shortest book reviews ever, and I’d like to say it’s because Charlotte’s Web is less than 200 pages in a large font with lots of pictures. However, the truth is that Charlotte’s Web has left me almost entirely speechless.

Charming. Warm fuzzies. Playful.

What more do I really need to say?

You can see my full evaluation of Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White as a must-read book here.

One thought on “Book Review: Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Leave a comment