Book Review: Letters to Putin

Since I was a teenager, I’ve enjoyed reading stories written by survivors of child abuse. In such tales, I find equal parts strength and encouragement, as I am a survivor, too. Letters to Putin by Joshua T. Crowley, however, was remarkably different – this book validated my own experience in many indescribable ways. I cannot recommend it enough for each and every child abuse survivor…and everyone else, for that matter.

Joshua T. Crowley is certainly one of the most incredible authors of our time. His unashamedly honest thoughts and revelations throughout the present-day events dealing with the aftermath of his father’s death make Letters to Putin one-of-a-kind. So often, I’ve read stories where the author attempts to censor him-/herself, but Crowley does no such thing. Rather, he shares his true reactions and reflections to present and past events, making Letters to Putin a refreshing reading experience.

As Crowley navigates the days and responsibilities following his father’s death, he discovers secrets his father kept from everyone, prompting him to reflect on his childhood, much of which was lived in a secrecy all of its own.

The abuse the author endured was painful to read, especially as a mother. I found my arms aching at times in a desire to embrace Crowley in his childhood, desperate to show him what love truly is and to shield him from the neglect of his father.

To read such horrific abuse of both a child’s mind and body was difficult, yes, but also motivating. Crowley’s story reminds me that there are often so many occurrences behind closed doors, and it is our duty to always be kind and willing to consider that reality is not always what it seems – particularly when masked by the “proper way of life,” such as church involvement, political affiliation, or community standings. After all, there are many things we don’t see about the people in our lives, and we must always be willing to protect children before our own interests or relationships.

Letters to Putin is exactly the book America needs right now. In the wake of what is happening in Washington and the involvement of foreign nations in our politics, it is imperative that we realize and understand that there are citizens among us who would betray our nation to make a buck. Moreover, we must realize that if so-called patriots are willing to betray America, it is absolutely within the realm of possibility that there are parents who would likewise betray their children. In my experience as a survivor and wife of a child abuse survivor, I have seen far too many times that people are all-too-willing to believe a parent to be blameless and the child’s action (even an adult child!) to be impetuous, unjustified, and unworthy of forgiveness, even from a Higher Power. Thankfully, though, Crowley’s raw experiences – both emotional and chronological – provide an opportunity for readers to see the lifelong effects of child abuse and thus prompt the reader to consider the tragic reality for many children around the world.

If you are a survivor of physical, emotional, mental, or sexual abuse, I must advise you to read this book with caution. However, please don’t let my warning discourage you from reading it! Crowley’s cathartic journey in the wake of his father’s death is one I believe many of us will one day face, or perhaps already have faced, as our abusers move into the next life and we are left here, finally completely free from their existence but not the memories they gave us. The emotions and reactions of Crowley reminded me that it is absolutely acceptable to feel the way I do about my abusers, and his revelations (both to himself and loved ones) throughout the book gave me the bravery-boost I needed to speak out about my own experiences.

I cannot recommend this book enough to every single person I know. Although perfect for anyone, I know Letters to Putin will particularly resonate with fans of books by Dave Pelzer (such as A Child Called “It”), Richard B. Pelzer (A Brother’s Journey), America DeFleur (Dandelion, see my review here), and Shy Keenan (Broken). As difficult as these authors’ stories are to read, I can only imagine how difficult their experiences were to live, and that is why it is our homage to them to read about their survival and share their stories in the hopes of encouraging another who is currently living through their own version of the hell that is child abuse.

I strongly encourage each and every person to head on over to Amazon to purchase a copy now! (Available in paperback as well as on Kindle and Kindle Unlimited.) The author donates a percentage of each royalty to RAINN.

*Shirt in featured photo was made by America DeFleur; photo credit to my husband, Nick Castetter.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Letters to Putin

Leave a comment